Need Guidance, Help, Thoughts. dimmable LED? Smart home? DIY?

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

First off all, Sorry for my bad English, second sorry if i’m not in the right place to ask my question :confused: but I’m surfing on the web looking for answers like crazy but I can’t find any right and clear way how to make my project go the right way !

I’m a bit familiar with raspberry pie, actually i have only read a few articles and a lot of youtube video :slight_smile: i have also seen how IoT works ! I’m not a programmer or electrician but ready to learn !

So let’s go to my questions.

I bought some led Christmas lights, i think they are dimmable, because I can change the mode from fade out/fade in, tickling, slogo, steady on… I use them as “normal” lights to illuminate my home.

If it’s possible i want to control my lights, changing intensity over time, make them less bright or perhaps (maybe a bit to complicated this one? ) control every led light individually?

I was thinking using a smart plug over wifi, and use a raspberry pie with IoT to control my lights. But i don’t know if it’s possible? So i can change intensity over time, or make them fade out/in over time but in slow mode?

Do you have any insights? Idea? Any informations that can guide me in my project? :slight_smile:

I thank you in advance :slight_smile:

Dany.

Hi @Dany, welcome!

You could definitely use a smart plug to turn your Christmas lights on and off by controlling it via a Raspberry Pi running our WebThings Gateway software.

I’d say its unlikely that dimming them with the smart plug will work. Some smart plugs do provide a dimming feature and without seeing your lights it’s difficult to tell, but I’d say it’s likely the modes you describe are controlled by a small DC control unit on the other side of an AC/DC transformer. Dimming the AC power supply is unlikely to have the desired effect and may even damage the lights. It’s also very unlikely you can control the LEDs individually.