Licenses & legalese

I started working on addons about 2 years ago and have released about a dozen. I’m also a professional and hobby software dev (add website dev and such to that too) IRL, working for a java development company. As a result, I’ve written programs in other languages and made websites too, and soon want to release a big program I wrote in java and sell it for money for a change.

The big problem with all that stuff I love to do is the one that became most apparent when I started publishing addons: the freaking licences. I don’t understand zilch about them, and even with the relative simplicity of firefox addons, it’s still an incomprehensible load of legalese. Even when I look them up on tldrlegal.com, it’s still a confusing mess of unclear requirements, a load of legal jargon, unclear consequences regarding what users and other devs can and can’t do, etc.

When applied to firefox addons, what do the main licenses listed on AMO actually entail/how do they differ? Which concrete things are allowed or denied under each license? What about updates/new versions, git repos, etc?

Anglosaxon legalese is not too easy to understand and includes several things that are already regulated in law. Anyway, I use the Mozilla licence and made a mention of it in every single file. Also a mention of the add-on that I originally forked. When a copy becomes a modification or a new work is subject to interpretation.
Best to do is to read articles about the various licences, such as Wikipedia.

Yes, software licenses are tricky. It might be easier if you tell us what you want people to be able to do or not to do with your source so we can give you a better idea of which license is okay for you.