Community maintained API's?

As stated by mozilla on the transition wiki, smart phone API’s need to be maintained by the community. What API’s are currently there to maintain ?

We have a link listing the fxos API’s. During the transition many API’s are removed… i think. So, what API’s exactly the community needs to maintain ?

Some answer in the today transition meeting notes: we should make a list :slightly_smiling:
(but basically, all the phones-specific API, from call to bluetooth and SMS)

1 Like

bluettooth, wifi, NFC these will be maintained by mozilla because these are important for connected devices too. And everything moved to web standards. So, Regarding the community API’s my guess is:

• Call, SMS
  • Contacts
  • Gallery (SD Card ?)
  • LED
  • Camera
  • Any more guesses ?

I’m no expert here, but I guess any API supported as a web standard would be a great benefit. Is there no web standard for camera/microphone?

getUserMedia() probably does not cover all the usecases that the mozCamera API provides, such as controlling flash, etc.

1 Like

there is a web API for camera and microphone but i don’t know how good these can be used on mobiles… As said by @lissyx flash doesn’t come under it.

Another good place to look is the Firefox OS Module Owners list.

The area which is definitely smartphone-specific is the Radio Interface Layer. I would suggest the Contacts API is possibly smartphone specific too (can we do without it and just have the contacts app use IndexedDB?).

• Radio Interface Layer
  • Telephony - dom/telephony
  • Mobile Message - dom/mobilemessage
  • Mobile Connection - dom/mobileconnection
  • ICC - dom/icc
  • Voicemail - dom/voicemail
  • Cell Broadcast - dom/cellbroadcast
  • dom/system/gonk
  • ipc/ril
  • Contacts
  • dom/contacts

There are many APIs being removed as part of the transition project which will therefore not need owners including:

• Apps
  • Web Activities
  • System Messages
  • Inter-app Communication