Brand New IOT Gateway Is Missing Add-Ons and Other Things

First, I need to apologize for any dumb statements as I am a complete noob to Pi, Linux and IOT.

I have been attempting to get Mozilla Gateway running for 3 days now. I’ve flashed a clean version of gateway-0.7.0.img (using balenaEtcher) numerous times so that I can re-try from scratch each time. While I have been able to get the gateway to connect to a Z-Wave switch, there are numerous features that simply aren’t working. These are:

1. After configuring a wi-fi network and connecting to it, I can get to the http://gateway.local site (but only because I added a manual hosts entry as mDNS isn’t available on my router). However, for the first screen when it prompts to “Choose a secure web address for your gateway” I put in my chosen name (one word) and my email address then click on {Create]. It then shows “processing”, but then hangs there. I’ve waited for 10 minutes and still nothing happens, so finally I click on [Skip]. I’ve tried this with a 3 iterations of a brand-new clean image on my SD card.

2. Once I skip the initial config, I can get to the main interface and I can scan and add my Z-Wave switch (by using the Z-Stick Gen5 USB dongle). However, when I go to Settings, the following pages don’t work:

a. Clicking on “Add-ons” > (+) goes to http://gateway.local/settings/addons/discovered, but it’s just a dark blue background with a title of “Discover New Add-ons” and nothing is ever displayed.

b. When I go to “Updates” it shows “Updates” in the title, but then with just two dark blue boxes with no text in them.

Any input as to why I can’t get this thing to work would be greatly appreciated.

That sounds like it’s having trouble connecting to the internet. Do you have DHCP available in your network?